The Henry Rothschild Memorial Ceramic Bursary is a biannual award of £5000 to a ceramic artist resident in the UK.

Since the Bursary was established following Henry’s death in 2009, there have been four awards and you can read about each one by clicking the images below.

2020 winner

The bursary judges are aware of how difficult it has been for makers in 2020, and the task of choosing just one candidate from so many high-quality applications has not been an easy one.

However, we are delighted to announce that this year’s winner is Mella Shaw.

Read about Mella and her project. 

Mella Shaw, Bridges (Grey and Yellow), 2013 © Sylvain Deleu
Mella Shaw (2020)

Previous winners

Stephen Graham
Stephen graham (2013)
Landon Peck
Landon Peck (2014)
Alison Cooke
Alison Cooke (2016)
Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Consent to display content from Youtube
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google